The people who bring laurels to the department


Prof. Mudlappa Jayananda, PhD (Petrology and Geochemistry, Bangalore University, 1989)
Tel: +91-40-23135332
E-mail: mjayan.geol@gmail.com

Prof. M. Jayananda is specialized in Petrology, Geochemistry, Geochronology, Radiogenic isotopes.

He is a Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences (2014 onwards), National Academy of Sciences, India (2017 onwards) and Indian National Science Academy (2020 onwards). He is recipient of i) Sir C.V. Raman Young Scientist Award (1999) of the Karnataka State for contributions in the field of Geology; ii) M.R. Srinivasa Rao Award (2000) of the Geological Society of India for contributions in the field of Petrology related to India; iii) National Mineral Award (2000) of Government of India, Ministry of Coal and Mines, for outstanding contributions in the field of Geochemistry; iv) JGSI Radhakrishna Prize (2004) of the Geological Society of India for the best paper published in Journal of the Geological Society of India; v) Bellur Rama Rao Birth Centenary Award (2007) of Geological Society of India for major contributions on Precambrian Geology of India; vi) H.H. Read Memorial Gold Medal (2009) of Association of geoscientists and Allied Technologists for contributions on granites and vii) JGSI Radhakrishna Prize (2010) for the best paper published in Journal of Geological Society of India.


Prof. Kolluru Sree Krishna, PhD (Marine Geophysics, Andhra University, India, 1989)
Tel: +91-40-23135301
E-mail: krishna@uohyd.ac.in

Prof. K. S. Krishna is specialized in Lithospheric dynamics, Tectonics, Plate Tectonics, Marine Geophysics.

He is recipient of the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for the year 2001 in the discipline of Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary sciences. He is a Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore (2002 onwards, the Indian Geophysical Union (2002 onwards), the National Academy of Sciences, India (2010 onwards), Indian National Science Academy (INSA) (2013 onwards), Andhra Pradesh Academi of Sciences, Hyderabad (2011 onwards). He is also recipient of i) J.C. Bose National Fellowship (2001); ii) M.S. Krishnan Medal of the Indian Geophysical Union for 1996; iii) Decennial Award of the Indian Geophysical Union for the year 2010; iv) National Geosciences Award – 2010 in recognition of contributions in the field of Ocean Development; v) Annie Talwani Memorial Prize, Indian Geophysical Union, 2013; vi) Dr. S. Balakrishna Memorial Lecture Award (Telangana Academy of Sciences), 2016; vii) National Excellence Award in the area of Geoscience and Technology, Ministry of Earth Sciences, New Delhi, 2017.


Prof. Karumuri Ashok, PhD (Meteorology, Andhra University, India, 1997)
Tel: +91-40-23135326
E-mail:  ashokkarumuri@uohyd.ac.in

He is specialized in ocean, atmosphere and climate sciences. His research interests include Tropical Indo-pacific variability and  global impacts, Monsoon theory,  variability & change, and scale interactions, Seamless prediction, Earth system modelling, Past and future climate change modeling, climate applications, extreme urban weather prediction, Climate change policy. He is a Fellow of National Academy of Sciences, Allahabad, India (2018 onwards).


Prof. Chakravarthi Vishnubhotla, PhD (Geophysics, Osmania University, India, 2006)
Tel: +91-40-23135331
E-mail: vces@uohyd.ernet.in

He is specialized in Exploration Geophysics, Mathematical Modeling and Inversion.

He is recipient of i) CSIR Young Scientist Award – 2002; ii) Gold Medal of Indian Geophysical Union – 2005; iii) National Mineral Award – 2007.

Assistant Professors

Dr. Sri Lakshmi Sunkara, PhD (Geophysics, Osmania University, India, 2005)
Tel: +91-40-23135307
E-mail: srilakshmi@uohyd.ac.in

 She is specialized in Geophysics: Nonlinear Time series analysis, Neural Networks, Seismics, Rock Physics Modeling.

She is a Associate Fellow of A.P. Academy of Sciences, 2006. He is also recipient of ONGC-AEG AWARD for the “BEST Ph. D THESIS” for the Year 2005; iii) Prof B. SUNDARA RAMA RAO SHASTIPURTHI AWARD, Andhra University, 1998 & 1997; iv) SILVER JUBILEE PRIZE, Andhra University, 1998.


Dr. Aliba Ao, PhD (Metamorphic Petrology, IIT Kharagpur, 2016)
Tel: +91-40-23135300
E-mail: alibaao@uohyd.ac.in

He is specialized in Metamorphic Petrology, Geochemistry. His research interests include metamorphic evolution of volcanic/pelitic rocks from Phanerozoic subduction zone settings and fluid-rock interaction at the slab-mantle interface.


Dr. Vijay P. Kanawade, PhD (Atmospheric Sciences, University of Leicester, UK, 2010)
Tel: +91-40-23135331
E-mail: vijaykanawade@uohyd.ac.in

He is specialized in aerosol and cloud physics, Satellite remote sensing of aerosols and trace gases, and air quality. He is recipient of i) Marie Curie Research Fellowship to pursue his doctoral studies at University of Leicester, UK; ii) FELIX Award, University of Reading, UK, 2006.


Dr. Devleena Mani Tiwari, PhD (Geochemistry, CSIR-NGRI, Hyderabad, 2008)
Tel: +91-40-23135330
E-mail: dtiwarisp@uohyd.ac.in

She is specialized in Organic and Stable Isotope Geochemistry, Sedimentary Geochemistry and Geology. She is recipient of Krishnan Gold Medal, Indian Geophysical Union, 2017;


Dr. Mohammad Ismaiel, PhD (Marine Geophysics, AcSIR, National Institute of Oceanography, 2018)
Tel: +91-40-23135300
E-mail: ismaiel@uohyd.ac.in

 He is specialized in Continental Rifting, Plate reconstructions, Sedimentation processes at rifted margin. His research interest is to understand the nature of continental break-up, crustal accretion and sediment deposition pattern in the ocean basins.

Ramanujan Fellow

Dr. Ritima Das, PhD (Applied Geophysics, CSIR-NGRI  2016)
Tel: +91-40-23135330
E-mail: ritima@uohyd.ac.in

She is specialized in Seismology, Tectonics, Geophysical Inversion. Her research interest aimed at understanding the complex structure of earth from crust down to the transition to the asthenosphere to the deep mantle, from plate boundaries to continental, and from present day to ancient processes.

 Visiting Professor

Prof. A. C. Narayana, PhD (Environmental Geoscience, S.V. University, Tirupati, 1980)
Tel: +91-40-23135327
E-mail: acnes@uohyd.ac.in

He is specialized in Marine Geology, Environmental Geoscience, Surface Processes, Sedimentology. His research interest include Coastal Processes and Dynamics, Paleoclimate, Environmental monitoring, Heavy metal pollution, Marine sediments and transport processes, Water resources development and management.